Bonsucro Members’ Council election results

15th March 2022

Every year, we rotate the Members’ Council representatives through an election process. The details for the rotation process are covered in our Articles of Association (clause 13.4 and 13.6) and our Members’ Council Terms of Reference. The rotations are based on the time of service of elected representatives, with the longest serving members rotating out first.

The Secretariat organised elections in three membership classes which were based on the criteria stipulated by the Articles, which  followed the process below:

Process Due Date
Secretariat will share announcement of the MC Vacancies to the applicable membership classes – nomination period opens Tuesday, 1 February 2022
Deadline for member companies to submit their nominations for elections Friday, 18 February 2022
Voting instructions are sent by the Secretariat to members and voting platform opens Monday, 21 February 2022
Voting closes Friday, 11 March 2022
Appointment of elected MC representatives Monday, 21 March 2022


We would like to thank all candidates who put themselves forward and to recognise their continuous commitment and contribution to Bonsucro. Likewise we would like to thank all members who voted in the elections this year, your participation is very important to Bonsucro.

The results of the elections are as follows:

Civil Society Class (two seats, i.e. two votes per member):

Alex Bjork (WWF, United States) – 75% – ELECTED

Evan Watson (La Isla Network, United States) – 75% ELECTED

Flavio Linares (Solidaridad, The Netherlands) – 37.5%


Industrial Class (one seat)

Ines Amenabar Cordon (Pantaleon, Guatemala) – 39.2% – ELECTED

Chris Connors (Sunshine Sugar, Australia) – 37.25%

Samir Shantilal Somaiya (Godavari Biorefineries, India) – 23.52%


Intermediary Class (one seat)

Meredith Smith (ED&F Man, UK) – 76.9% – ELECTED

Studen Boris (Studen Agrana, Boznia & Herzegovina) – 23.1%


Congratulations to the elected representatives We wish them a successful tenure in the Members’ Council. Please visit this page to read more about Bonsucro’s governance.